Out and About, Photography
Comments 2

Rancho La Escondida, Chihuahua, Mexico

Hope everyone is enjoying their summer because I certainly am! A week ago we had a family reunion on my father’s side of the family. Every year, we all get together and go camping and hiking at the family ranch called La Escondida. For as long as I can remember, we have been going there every year. There is no electricity, cell phone service, or city water. It is completely out in the middle of nowhere, but I LOVE IT! To me, it is a getaway place from the city life and technology that seems to suck me in on a daily basis. When I go to the ranch, I can see the stars so clearly hanging from a pitch black sky; and I love to go to sleep in my tent only hearing the water trickle and a few crickets singing in the night. It is the most peaceful place to be; away from everything.

Although there is no electricity, we carry batteries for flashlights and the little two-bedroom ranch house is powered by solar panels. For water, we depend on a natural spring that gives birth underground. On rainy seasons, the river resurrects near the ranch house; literally a few steps away. This year, we were able to go to the ranch after it had received some rain so we enjoyed jumping into these rock pools that were filled with water. It was a long hike to get there, to the place we call Las Amapolas, but the jump in the pool was well worth it; at least for my kiddos and the rest of my family. I, on the other hand, had to go back and finish an essay that would be due the next day for an American Literature class.

Sad to say, but I was having so much fun that I forgot to take photos. Who does that?! Not only that, but the only camera I had on me was my iPad. How horrible, right? Well, I was able to take some photos before it died on me and I would at least like to share some miniscule amount of what the ranch is like. Enjoy the Chihuahuan Desert!

tadpoles in the Chihuahuan Desert

Tadpoles and green algae

springs in the Chihuahuan Desert

slimy streams full of color

natural springs in the Chihuahuan Desert

Transparent and lovely

natural springs in the Chihuahan Desert

Nature’s beauty

Geology of the Chihuahuan Desert

Gems

Chihuahuan DesertChihuahuan DesertChihuahuan DesertChihuahuan Desert somewher in Chihuahua MexicoFlora of the Chihuahuan DesertChihuahuan Desert rocksGeology

Creek in the Chihuahuan Desert

Walking the creek

Black dragonfly in the Chihuahuan Desert

Hard to see, but that is a black dragonfly on the rock… I think.

Swimming in the pools of the Chihuahuan Desert

My daughter in one of the pools (It was transparent until they got in)

Layla and Brandon

Layla and Brandon

Natural Springs in the Chihuahuan Desert

The biggest pool: about 7-8 feet deep (it never dries)

image

Well, that’s all for now. Hope to add more to this list soon!

This entry was posted in: Out and About, Photography

by

Hi! I'm Nayla Carrasco, the creative face and owner behind Mrs. Nayla. I love to read and write, travel, take pictures, set my kitchen, draw, and paint on canvas. As an English teacher, I like to research and share my knowledge about anything related to education and the world I see. When I'm not studying, shopping, or capturing life's moments behind a camera lens, I'm busy spending time with my family.

2 Comments

    • I know right! These were all taken with the iPad so the quality wasn’t as good, but now that I have this new camera I can’t wait to go camping at the ranch this summer! You and I can go take some cool photos. Maybe even practice some night photography!

      Like

Leave a comment